A Little Bit of Color

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today, I went to see the Vatican Splendors exhibit in the Heinz Center in Pittsburgh. Not really how I would choose to spend my afternoon, but my family really wanted to go.  We saw reliquaries galore, put our hands in a cement print of the pope’s hand and “marveled” at imitations of famous artwork.   It was so crowded I thought I would die and felt like passing out from the extremely hot exhibit room.  No pictures were allowed so I can’t share with you, unfortunately, the REPLICA of the Pieta. For all the money we paid and line we waited in to see the thing you would think we would be seeing the REAL one! However, I discovered something a little better walking down the street outside the Heinz Center.  As we walked to lunch at a delicious pizza place in downtown Pburg we passed an outrageous costume store ( I wasn’t allowed by the family to stop in since we were all starving) but managed to experiment with my new Bloggie and snag some pictures of this awesome street art. These larger than life spray paint figures covered the brick walls and windows of the costume shop.  I have to say they were a lot more exciting, COLORFUL and best of all FREE.  There was no line to see this art.  It may not have been blessed by the pope or contained the remains of Saint Whoever, but its art I would rather see any day.

About Lindsay Bailey

Hi, I'm a senior public relations major/English minor at West Virginia University. I'm interested in writing, camping and having fun. View all posts by Lindsay Bailey

Leave a Reply

