Inside the “Wizarding World of Harry Potter”

Although I try to focus my blog on fashion ( at the instruction of several websites that claim blogs must have a narrow focus in order to be successful ) I am making an exception for “The Wizarding World of Harry Potter”.  Plus, the subheading of my blog’s title does clearly state “other fashionable addictions,” and I’ve certainly been addicted to Harry Potter since the 5th grade. As far as fashionable goes, well I think its safe to say that the design of this theme park is incredible and really exceeds expectations in its attention to detail. The Harry Potter franchise has made an undeniable mark on pop culture that may be paralleled by no other.  Not many book series up end inspiring an entire theme park. Emma Watson’s (aka Hermione Granger) dress from the Triwizard Tournament ball ( or maybe its from a different occasion, can’t remember ) is displayed in a shop window, and was one of my favorite little details hidden in the park.  I will note that in relation to fashion, I think its amazing how the HP phenomena has been integrated into the fashion industry.  Since the release of the latest movie, just last week, I have seen countless magazine covers and tweets from fashion mags about Emma Watson’s fashion style.  She has become a style icon and trend setter all because of a little book series by J.K. Rowling. Honey Duke’s Sweet Shop was decorated exactly as I would have imagined and the pink staircase was so charming!  It reminded me of the LA lingerie boutique,Faire Frou Frou, I blogged about a few weeks ago.  The shops of the Hogsmeade, and the spectacular castle of Hogwarts completely blew me away, and if it weren’t for the swarm of tourists squeezed into such a narrow space (authentically narrow streets) I would have spent all four days of my vacation there. Picturesque, designed to live up to the fantasy and magical is how I would describe the little theme park.  If your as addicted to Harry Potter as I am, these photographs will only wet your appetite to see the thing for yourself. But, if you aren’t planning to make the pilgrimage to Orlando, FL anytime soon I hope these photos may satisfy a few cravings. Let me know what you think!

Inside sweet shop

Stairwell in Honey Duke’s

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Lindsay Bailey

Hi, I'm a senior public relations major/English minor at West Virginia University. I'm interested in writing, camping and having fun. View all posts by Lindsay Bailey

Leave a Reply

